Skip to content

I Am With You

October 15, 2014

It has been my experience that when Jesus extends his invitation, “Come, follow me,” he often leads me out of the safe, comfortable places of my egocentric preoccupations and into the unknown. There is often no clarity. There is no GPS. I often don’t know where I am going or exactly how to get there. I just have to rely on him every step of the way to navigate the new realities of the incredible opportunities into which he leads me. He blesses me with the faith to see what God wants me to see and a deep desire to look for more of the same. He invites me to participate with him in the renewal of his creation, to live out the subversive rhythms of the Kingdom of God in my community, my culture, and my world. Sometimes I am asked to do things I don’t believe I can actually do, but I know I absolutely can’t not do.

Is it scary?  You bet your life it’s scary!  God knows that.  He knows what the pervasive and paralyzing power of fear can do. That’s why the most repeated command in the Bible is “Fear not.”  It appears in various forms literally hundreds of times. But it’s a very tall order. God gave us fear as one of our basic emotions. It is necessary for our survival.

That’s why what several times follows that command is so vital:  “For I am with you.” Faith in that promise does not eliminate my fear. However it does bring me to the point where I am willing to follow Jesus despite my fear, thereby expanding life’s boundaries by removing the limits fear sets. As the old Gerry and the Pacemakers song suggests, I can walk through the storms of life, indeed through the valley of the shadow of death, with my head held high, secure in the knowledge that I never walk alone.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Bari Castle permalink
    October 17, 2014 4:20 pm

    Barry, Jean Lockhart received a letter addressed to you. I have it now – it is from Canada. Where can I send it?

    Bari

Leave a Reply

