Skip to content

Wonders That Cannot Be Fathomed

May 31, 2014

Last night I sat on my steps, luxuriating in the coolness of the gentle rain, awed by one of the most spectacular electrical storms I have ever witnessed. Daggers of chain lightning, several at a time, sliced across the sky from sea to mountains. Dazzling flashes of sheet lightning illuminated the landscape more starkly than daylight. Ball lightning, something I had never seen before, exploded over the Caribbean like gargantuan flashbulbs. The thunder rolled on and on for minutes at a time. “Thy power before the universe displayed.” How great Thou art, indeed.

As I watched I thought about all the beauty I have been privy to see in this corner of God’s creation. Earlier in the day my home was once again graced by a Black Witch. This huge moth’s size, shape and flight behaviour are very similar to those of a bat. The first time I saw one I thought a strange looking bird had flown into my home. My research revealed that this is quite a rare moth, so my having had several in my home is quite remarkable. A rich and very disparate mythology surrounds this creature. It is commonly associated with sickness and death, yet it is also considered a harbinger of money. Death for one and inheritance for another perhaps? All that aside, I just enjoy my beautiful visitors.

In April I witnessed the most incredible phenomenon.  For more than an hour the air around my house was filled with millions of pale sulphur-coloured butterflies, wheeling and fluttering as they winged their way in concert to I have no idea where.  The stragglers continued for another hour.  The otherworldly experience was enhanced by my neighbours’ children squealing, “Papiyon! Papiyon!” as they reached out to try to touch the elusive passersby. Smaller migrations occurred in the following weeks, but none as spectacular as the initial one.

It has been fabulous to have lived at the edge of the Caribbean, to watch the lady, legendary for her beauty, constantly choosing from her extensive wardrobe in varying shades of blue, spreading her gowns wide to the sun-washed horizon. I have frequently tried to capture her beauty in words, but of course that is quite impossible. I have so often stood enraptured as the fiery ball of the setting sun plunged into her depths, its colour boiling up like steam to mix with those of the darkening sky.

Whenever I gaze upon the millions of sparkling diamonds strewn over the expanse of black velvet that is the Haitian night sky, I cannot help but think of Job’s words: He alone stretches out the heavens and treads on the waves of the sea. He is the Maker of the Bear and Orion, the Pleiades and the constellations of the south. He performs wonders that cannot be fathomed, miracles that cannot be counted. Job 9:8-10

Since I was a child I been enthralled by the magnificence of Creation and have seen the Creator in it. I thank God that I have never lost that child-like wonder, for it continues to be an immeasurable source of joy to me.

For his invisible attributes, namely, his eternal power and divine nature, have been clearly perceived, ever since the creation of the world, in the things that have been made. Romans 1:20

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

