Skip to content

Trusting in a Good Result

April 17, 2013

Over the last several weeks my little church in Montrouis has been working through Lord, Change My Attitude, a video series by James MacDonald from Harvest Bible Chapel in Chicago, a mega-church with seven campuses. MacDonald uses a very comprehensive definition of faith that very much appeals to me:

Faith is believing the Word of God and acting upon it, no matter how I feel, knowing that God promises a good result.

I certainly have had ample opportunity in my life to exercise that kind of faith, especially over the last two years in Haiti.  Last week, as I anticipated a return to Canada, I was comfortable in my assumptions as to where I would reside during both my time in BC and my time in Manitoba. It is ironic that the very person I expected to stay with in BC has frequently reminded me that assumptions and expectations are a bane.

On Tuesday I received an email informing me that my intended lodgement in Manitoba would not be available.  A second option I have exercised in the past I already knew was out of the question.  I was faced with not knowing where I would stay.

Trusting in “a good result”, last Thursday I booked my flight to BC, intending to leave arranging my flight to Manitoba for a later date to allow for the unexpected eventualities that seem an inevitable part of my Canadian furloughs.

Then on Saturday I received a message that due to a change in residence, the friend who had graciously accommodated me in BC during my last couple of trips would be unable do so this time.  Suddenly I had nowhere to stay at either end of the country.  I was feeling a bit adrift, but trusted that God would work everything out as He always does.

On Monday evening I was pouring over a simply superb treatise on the Citadelle, Haiti’s most famous historical monument and the largest fortress in the western world.  I plan to visit this mythical edifice at some time in the future, but will put off going until I am satisfied I have learned enough about it to fully appreciate its every detail.  The uncredited article was written in French, and although I could read it, albeit haltingly and with the generous aid of Larousse, I recognized it was only through translating it that I would be able to appreciate the rich nuances of this unnamed wordsmith’s style, the exquisite marrying of expansivefactual detail with rapturous poetic imagery.  This style of writing very much appeals to both my voracious appetite for knowledge and the deeply ingrained romanticism that has coloured my life for as long as I can remember.

This particular rather challenging translation, a series of struggles toward “aha” moments, has made me more acutely aware of how the omission or addition of a single letter, a single accent, or as the Bible puts it, “one jot or one tittle”, can radically change the meaning of the text.  As my thinking set off down one of its frequent rabbit trails, I considered how, in my perhaps not so humble opinion, that no translation of the Bible can be read with clarity of understanding without the guidance of the Holy Spirit, making arguments over exactitudes moot.  But I digress.

As I was engrossed in this effort, my email notifier chimed, and I immediately checked my inbox.  The mail was from very dear friends and mentors of many years, inviting me to share their Manitoba home during my time there.

A few minutes later, my notifier alerted me to another incoming message.  This time it was from a cherished friend in BC, reminding me of the invitation she had extended on my last visit with her and her husband, that if ever I needed accommodations in the area, their home would be open to me.

Both these couples have been staunch supporters of mine in my work in Haiti, being there for me when I needed someone to talk to (most often electronically) as I worked through the trials and tribulations of living and working in this enigmatic country.   Not surprising, as they always had been as I charted my arcane course along life’s highways and byways, most often taking “the one less traveled by”.  They are, in reality, keystones of my personal church.

I am truly grateful that God really does provide when I trust in His promises.

By the way, Lord, there are a few more details that still need attention.  But all in Your time.

I will trust in Your promise of a good result.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

