Skip to content

Quotography – A Little Help From My Friends

January 19, 2013

I am one who fully recognizes the beauty and power of words to incite and divide, to soothe and connect, or to create and effect change.  Truly, as the Bible says, death and life are within the power of words.  As a child, one of my favourite activities was to sit in the principal’s office pouring over the huge dictionary he kept there, learning new words.  As an aspiring wordsmith I strive to select words that convey my ideas with precision and impact.  I am an avid reader.  I get to know authors through their work, and some of them become like friends.   I am always attentive to how they use words to convey ideas, illicit emotions, and paint pictures.

Anyone who knows me, anyone who has read even a few of my blog posts, realizes that I am a bit of a quotographer, a person who loves and collects quotes, those snippets of wisdom that jump out from a page or from someone’s mouth.  Like the poet Alexander Smith, I value fine phrases more than bank-notes.

I have learned to no longer be the bane of librarians by underlining my favourite lines or starring them in the margins of books; instead, when immersed in my reading, having no great faith in my aging mind to retain all that much, I keep my laptop at hand as a repository in which to lovingly squirrel away any gems that resonate with me.  Some, to borrow a line from Greg Boyle, I tattoo upon my heart.  A few I have etched into my soul.

As I was musing over what I would write today, it occurred to me that rather than augment my post with relevant quotes, I could share with you a few from my collection without context.  The ones I have chosen to include are in no special order, but rather just listed as I came across them in my rather haphazard files.  The collection is eclectic, and some may find some of the sources questionable.  But I find that wisdom can come from anywhere.

Beneath each quote is a picture of the author.

What we are all called to do really is to create a community of kinship such that God would recognize it…. We seek Jesus in the lowly place…. We inch our way up to the edges, the margins, where we encounter and stand with the poor and the powerless and the voiceless, we stand with those whose dignity has been denied and whose burdens are more than they can bear, with the easily despised and the readily left out, even with the demonized so the demonizing will stop, with the disposable so that the day will come when we stop throwing people away.  That is our call.

Father Greg Boyle

Father Greg Boyle

If you’re not careful, the newspapers will have you hating the people who are being oppressed, and loving the people who are doing the oppressing.

Malcolm X

Malcolm X

Surround yourself with the dreamers and the doers, the believers and thinkers, but most of all, surround yourself with those who see greatness within you, even when you don’t see it yourself.

― Edmund Lee

[I couldn’t positively identify the author to post a picture.]

An individual has not started living until he can rise above the narrow confines of his individualistic concerns to the broader concerns of all humanity.

Martin Luther King, Jr.

Martin Luther King, Jr.

Capitalism is the astounding belief that the most wickedest of men will do the most wickedest of things for the greatest good of everyone.

John Maynard Keynes

John Maynard Keynes

To understand the Book in real perception, it’s necessary to know the Author before you read His Book. To truly KNOW Jesus as He is, we MUST know Him in experience.

Martha Kilpatrick

Martha Kilpatrick

Listen to your life.   See it for the fathomless mystery that it is.  Touch, taste, smell your way to the holy and hidden heart of it because in the last analysis all moments are sacred moments and life itself is grace.

Frederick Buechner

Frederick Buechner

Remember that everyone you meet is afraid of something, loves something and has lost something.  Be kind.  Everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle. 

H.Jackson Brown, Jr.

H.Jackson Brown, Jr.

Conformity is the jailer of freedom and the enemy of growth.

John Fitzgerald Kennedy

John Fitzgerald Kennedy

To love another person is to see the face of God.

Victor Hugo

Victor Hugo

 

Somebody once said our lives are the sum total of our experiences.  But it’s not the experiences, it’s the people, not just the one’s in our lives, but those that play through it—all the fly-by, small, but rich relationships—sometimes they’re the most special of all.  It’s why we always promise to keep in touch.  If only we did….  if only we did.

Harriet 'Harry' Korn from 'Harry's Law'aka Kathy Bates

Harriet ‘Harry’ Korn from ‘Harry’s Law’
aka Kathy Bates

 

Every happening, great and small, is a parable whereby God speaks to us, and the art of life is to get the message. 

Malcolm Muggeridge

Malcolm Muggeridge

When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will know peace.

Jimi Hendrix

Jimi Hendrix

We think sometimes that poverty is only being hungry, naked and homeless. The poverty of being unwanted, unloved and uncared for is the greatest poverty. We must start in our own homes to remedy this kind of poverty.

Mother Teresa

Mother Teresa

 

Our God is greater than our own heart and mind, and too easily we are tempted to make our heart’s desires and our mind’s speculations into the will of God.

Henri Nouwen

Henri Nouwen

Perhaps you too are a quote junkie and have some favourites I could add to my collection.  I would really appreciate that.  But perhaps not only did you find something of interest in what I have offered, but found something that you might tattoo on your heart or perhaps etch into your soul.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

