Skip to content

My Century Post

November 7, 2011

This is my 100th post.

I spent some time today going back over what I have written in the past several months.  Although this adventure of mine began in December, I didn’t try my hand at blogging until February.   But in reality my adventure goes much further back than that.  For as a dear friend commented some time ago, “We have watched God prepare you for this for years.”  I have said for a long time that nothing defines my life so much as change, and those who follow my blog will know just how true this has proved during my time here in Haiti.

I knew back in December that I was called to Haiti, and it was clear to me what I was going to do here.  Very early in February the whole plan seemed to fall apart and then came back together over a very few days.

I flew to Haiti at the end of February for thirteen whirlwind days.  I travelled a lot and saw a good deal of the country.  I immediately fell in love with both Haiti and the Haitian people.  I also met a lot of people who have become part of my life here.

Returning to Canada, I shut down my life there in less than two months.  I retired from my job, sold virtually everything I owned, and prepared to return to Haiti.

The months that I spent with Clean Water were for the most part wonderful.  I felt I was a very good fit for my position, but after my very eventful trip to Canada at the end of August, Chris and I discovered that we have very different ways of looking at things at times, and we decided to part ways.

I found myself somewhat adrift, not knowing where I was going to live or what I was going to do.  Relocating to Saint-Marc, I thought I was going to be working in the Saint Nicholas Hospital, but although everyone seemed to be welcoming my assistance, somehow it just never came together.  I drifted into teaching school and helping out in the hospital in Pierre Payen.

Then I was very unexpectedly offered the opportunity of being in on the ground floor of a brand new nursing school that was launched here in Saint-Marc.  I still haven’t fully come to terms with that, but I am enjoying it.

Through all of this I have never for an instant doubted that this is God’s plan for my life.  At times I have had no idea where things were going next, but I knew He did; that was good enough for me.  Again and again I have seen Him take care of me in amazing ways.  For my part, I only need to continue to be willing to be obedient and to be grateful for every opportunity He provides.

My Haitian Prayer (October 13) truly sums up my heart for Haiti.   May God continue to help me live it.

 _______________________________________________________________________________

My blog has been therapy for me.  Somehow seeing my thoughts in print clarifies them for me.  I must write something interesting once in awhile.  As of this evening my posts have been visited 3,684 times.  They have generated comments and several personal emails.  Those have served to encourage me and at times further clarify my thinking.

I would encourage you to make comments and let me know if there is anything you would like to know about this wonderful country, about what I am doing here, or about me.  Email me and I will definitely respond.

God bless you all.

I must make mention of something else.  There must be some connection between Armstrong and Haiti.  There are three former residents of that little BC town working in this part of Haiti.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

