Skip to content

Truth

September 23, 2011

Truth.  A statement made by a very good friend of mine, to whom I am eternally grateful for helping me keep my life on the rails, led me to ruminate on the concept for a while.  What it is?  The answer would seem simple, but apparently it is not.  I was a bit surprised that there are so many views of exactly what truth is.  That unquestionably authoritative source, Wikipedia, lists five major theories and several minor ones.  Dictionary.com lists eleven meanings.

There are those, atheistic humanists for example, who hold that truth doesn’t even exist as an absolute.  However to argue that there absolutely is no absolute truth is a logical contradiction.  In making such an argument one is saying that it is true that there is no truth.  The idea is self-contradictory.  Those who hold to this idea are rejecting their own accountability to any standards.

I find it interesting that many of those who hold to scientific or empirical truth reject the idea of absolute truth.  But if absolutes do not exist, what is it that science seeks to find and prove?  And for them to make the definitive statement that there is no God is to take the egotistical position that their knowledge has no limits.

For me the question boils down to a spiritual one.  Jesus states in John 14:6 that He is “the way and the truth and the life.”  I make no claim to completely understand His words and look askance of anyone who does.  But I know I have a conscience and I believe it is evidence of an absolute truth.  So does the fact that I, like most others, seek meaning in my life.

But it is more than conscience.  I have come to believe that what I experience is the moving of the Spirit of God within me, searching my heart, speaking to me, teaching me and always pointing me toward God.

Since I subscribe to the idea of absolute truth, I seek to apply that in my life.  Truth has become the overriding factor in all things for me.  I do not pretend to come close to completely knowing or understanding that truth, but I have come to trust it.  And when the world runs afoul of that truth, I will always, to the best of my ability, choose Truth.

Jesus said, “If you hold to my teaching, you are really my disciples.  Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.”

John 8:31-32

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

