Skip to content

The Canadian Tour: Second Stop – Surrey

September 1, 2011

The best laid schemes of mice and men

Go often askew.

–       from the Standard English translation of

To a Mouse, on Turning Her Up in Her Nest with the Plough,

by Robert Burns

We arrived in Surrey late Sunday and spent a couple of days with Barb’s parents.  Her parents were very gracious hosts and treated me very warmly.  Her mother took me for a tour of the area and drove me through Crescent Beach and Whiterock.  I spent an evening with Barb’s children and very much liked them.

The plan was for Barb and I to drive to the Okanagan together to visit my friends there.  That didn’t happen.  Instead I have flown to the Okanagan alone and will spend a bit longer than I originally planned.  At first I didn’t understand what was happening and I certainly wasn’t happy with the change.  But it was very soon to become apparent it was God’s plan.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

