Skip to content

Hard Lessons

August 18, 2011

I stand in wonder and awe before a God I don’t understand and can’t explain.   I possess neither the intellect nor the vocabulary.

He loves me purely and furiously.   He delights in me.  When He looks upon me all He sees is my divine worth, the righteousness of the Christ who lives within me.   How can I possibly understand that?  I can only silently know.

He calls me to a faith in which my words must be backed by my actions.  He calls me into His truth, a truth that carries responsibility.  Since God is love and love always costs, He calls me to a belief that costs.  He insists that when I wake up each morning I must die to myself.  I had always understood this to be in direct reference to my relationship to God, but He is showing me a different angle to this truth.  Not only am I to die to myself in relation to Him, I am also to die to myself in relation to others.

Another truth He has been impressing upon me of late is that His love is unconditional.  Therefore, He points out, if I am to offer His love to others, so must my love be.   That means I am to love others when they are unlovable, when they do things I don’t agree with, when they abuse me, when they refuse to follow Jesus, when they follow other gods.   I am to love others when I don’t want to love them.  I am to love others no matter what the cost.  Isn’t that what Jesus did?  Didn’t He do that for me?

American author H. Jackson Brown, Jr. offered this:  “Remember that everyone you meet is afraid of something, loves something and has lost something.  Be kind.  Everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle. “  I know this to be true.  All deserve love.

The lessons He has put before me are hard; I don’t like what He has been showing me about myself.  What He is telling me I must do is going to be far from easy.  But He will be with me and provide all I need.  God never withholds love to teach lessons.  I will do my best to do what He is asking of me.  I asked for this after all.  (See Intentional Musings.)

I do not offer my own experience as a formula for others, for as George MacDonald wrote, “Not only then has each man his individual relation to God, but each man has his peculiar relation to God.”

To fall in love with God is the greatest of all romances;
To seek him, the greatest adventure;
To find him, the greatest human achievement.

St. Augustine

One Comment leave one →
  1. kim evans permalink
    August 22, 2011 11:49 pm

    Amen,
    God’s speed my friend
    and remember to try and be as patient with you as our Lord is

Leave a Reply

