Skip to content

Photos, Posts and Prayers

June 23, 2011

I really don’t have much to say these days.  Other than my trying to sort out some personal stuff, everything for me is either in a holding pattern or else it is just same old, same old.  I know what will happen.  I will suddenly be caught up in a flurry of activity and will have so much to tell you that you will have trouble keeping up.

Perhaps it’s a good opportunity for some of my readers to write me a few lines.  I have learned from many others here that I am not alone in treasuring every communication from home; your words are vital to our wellbeing.  For those who are thinking “someone else will do it,” drop that thought right now.  I want to hear from YOU.  If you don’t have my e-mail address, leave me a note in the comment box on my “About Me” page and I will reply with my regular address.

In the meantime I have decided to post a few pictures I like.  I hope you will enjoy them.

 

 

Papi, a friend of Bryan’s, stopped in to bring us sugar cane and young coconuts.  As with most Haitians, handling a machete expertly seems to be second nature.

 

 

 

 

I had my first taste of coconut water (not coconut milk).  Young coconuts contain a good deal of it, and it is absorbed by the meat as the fruit matures.  The water is tangy, slightly sweet and very thirst quenching.  The meat of young nuts is soft and tasty, lacking some of the sweetness I always associated with coconut.

 

 

 

 

 

This is Plumeria, one of my favourite flowers here.  In sunlight the blossoms have a beautiful translucence and they are splendidly fragrant.

 

 

 

 

I love the gnarled old tree that grows between the houses.  It has so much character.  I imagine that if it could talk it would tell me wonderful stories.

 

 

 

 

 

This picture was taken as we stopped for breakfast on our way to make deliveries.  The scene is typical of a street restaurant with mouth-watering melanges simmering in huge pots.  Several vendors set up side by side in the Haitian equivalent of a shopping mall food court.

 

 

 

 

In the countryside this is often reduced to its basics – food prepared on the roadside in front of the vendor’s home in a pot balanced on rocks over a charcoal fire.  But no matter where one gets it, Haitian cuisine is delicious.

 

 

 

 

Sunsets are beautiful and we have an ideal vantage point from which to enjoy them.

 

 

 

 

 

Most evenings I can stand on the beach in front of the houses with the warm waves caressing my toes and watch the sun paint the sky as it slips into the Caribbean.  The beach hut at the point always adds a touch of tropical flavour to the scene.

 

 

 

 

I was reading John McHoul’s blog post titled Unseen yesterday morning.  John is with Heartline Ministries. In the post he put into words what we face each day here.  We can do practical things to help the people of Haiti – bring in truckloads of money, build houses, schools, clinics, help create and restructure systems.  But in the process we are always faced with forces that make all efforts extremely difficult and seemingly ineffective.  As John writes, most of these forces are right in our faces, but some are unseen, not of this world.

John makes some points as to what he believes is the answer and I agree with him in principle if not in specifics.  Only God can truly bring about change here, as elsewhere.  But I always come back to the fact that we must continue to work to save lives.  We can do nothing for people if we allow them to die needlessly.  And I believe that practical aid and exposure to those that bring it out of the love of God can and do change hearts.  I have experienced this in my own life over and over again.  My own heart was changed in this very way.

You can read John’s blog at         http://johnmchoul.wordpress.com/

Today is the feast of Corpus Christi in Haiti.  The holiday celebrates communion with Christ through the mass.  Our workers refer to it as God’s birthday.  I haven’t figured out what that is about.  Anyway it’s a day off for our workers.  Yonese came in to do our marketing, as local economics demands that the market does not take a holiday.  I haven’t figured out what I will do today;  Bryan and I didn’t know about the holiday until late last evening.

Please be in prayer for the Fox family.  Kelly and the children have been ravaged by a fever that has passed from one to another.  Only Bryan has escaped it.  Last night little Jesse’s temperature was over 104°F.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 24, 2011 1:43 am

    Great photos, Barry! I loved your description of coconut water, since I always wondered what it was like compared to coconut milk…

Leave a Reply

