Skip to content

Back to the old grind

March 17, 2011

I’m really starting to understand how we become a slave to the stuff we accumulate.   Getting rid of it all is my biggest task at present.  The time lines to accomplish that are beyond my control, and that bothers me.  But I believe that God has chosen me for this and I trust He will provide the means to make it happen.

I have less than a month before I am free of my job here.  I came back to find that my worksite had moved; nobody informed me.  Now we are going through another restructuring (my fourth lateral move in a year) and as a consequence morale is in the toilet.  Retirement is looking really sweet.

Many of you have expressed interest in seeing my photos and I am doing my best to accommodate you.  I have put together a slide show and will be showing it at Vernon Alliance tomorrow and at my own church here in Armstrong next Wednesday.  If you are not involved in either of these contact me and we will arrange something.

The situation in Haiti is getting crazier and crazier.  Rumour on the street has it that former president Jean-Bertrand Aristide will be returning to Haiti before Sunday’s presidential election.  ‘Baby Doc’ Duvalier is still in the country somewhere.  Leslie suggested that perhaps they will host an “ousted leaders” summit.  The country certainly has its own style.

I sense that things are opening up for Clean Water for Haiti.  As I wrote previously, remarkable improvements to the highway north of Pierre Payen have made a vast new area practicably accessible to us.  It is hoped our production rate for 2011 will be maintained at last year’s level of over 2200 filters.  My personal hope is that I will be able to absorb things rapidly enough to be able to hold the fort so that Chris and Leslie can focus on the coming addition to their family.  For this also I trust that God will continue to provide what I need.  He’s done a great job so far.

I am amazed at the strength of my support and I thank all of you.  As I have said before, if you are reading this please let me know.  It matters a great deal to me.  I know that many of you are praying for me; please continue.  The task ahead is huge.  Millions of people in our catchment area in Haiti are using water that puts them at risk for severe disease and potential death.  The cost per person to change that for 25 years is 20¢ per year.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

