Skip to content

Just When I Thought the Ride Was Over….

February 6, 2011

Please note:  This post was written February 4, but publication had to be delayed due to confidentiality surrounding Clean Water for Haiti having to work out some issues at the board level.  All things are now public, so I can now share how they have affected me.


The phone rang again Friday (February 4).

Haiti number.

Chris.

What’s up now?

I’m driving.  Have to find a place to pull over and call him back.

I find a spot and call.  He immediately says he will call me back because calling from Haiti is much cheaper than calling to Haiti.

He calls.  He is obviously very elated.  His American board had refused to accept his and Leslie’s resignations.  When he had called on Wednesday to tell me they had resigned I had speculated that this was a possibility, but he had been in too deep a funk to even entertain that possibility.  The American board has decided that in light of very different approaches to methodology and vision it will sever ties with the Canadian board.  The Canadian board will no longer be representative of Clean Water for Haiti.  Chris and Leslie will still be leading things on the ground and all will proceed as before.

Well sort of.

Clean Water for Haiti is working on a way for Canadian funds to be channelled directly to the foundation in Haiti so people can still be as supportive of the work as they have been in the past.

The couple who worked with Chris and Leslie resigned for reasons that Chris says he can wait until I am in Haiti to explain.  So that leaves a big hole in the mission, one that Chris and Leslie are very anxious to have me fill.  Since they will be coming back to Canada for the delivery of their baby, someone needs to be in place to run things in their absence.  So they would like my return to Haiti to be moved forward as much as possible.  It might be nice if I had some orientation before having to run the show.  And it might be useful to be able to speak a little Creole.

What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger.

This little drama, although painful for all involved, has, in my estimation,  done a great deal to strengthen the relationship that Chris and Leslie and I have.  They know my support for them runs deep, that I believe in what they are doing and how they are doing it.

As I wrote in My Roller Coaster Ride, my heart told me I would be working with them.  I just can’t believe things have gotten back on track so quickly.  Could this be the Lord at work?

Only three weeks to go as I write this.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

